Literary Awards

0 No tags Permalink

Courtesy Allen & Unwin
Do you
take any notice of the literary awards and make an effort to read the short
lists, long lists or winning books?
Winning the award or even
being “on the list”, whatever list it may be, almost guarantees authors
dramatic increases in sales and instant readership.
I must admit, do follow some
of the awards, particularly the Australian ones like the Miles Franklin and the commonwealth’s Man Booker. Last year I read a few on the
lists, with some winners amongst them. This year I hope to tackle a few more.
For the curious, below are the
some of the award winners for 2010. As 2011 progresses, I hope to take a closer
look at some of the awards and the “listed”. I hope that you can join me.
Australian Literary Awards for Fiction – Winners 2010 
  • ACT
    Writing and Publishing Awards – Hornet
    Bank by Gordon Reid
  • Adelaide
    Festival Awards: Ransom by David Malouf
  • The Age
    Book of the Year – Lovesong by Alex Miller
  • Australian
    Literature Society Gold Medal – Ransom
    by David Malouf
  • The
    Australian/Vogel Literary Award – Night
    Street by Kristel Thornell and Utopian Man by Lisa Lang
  • Australian
    Book Industry Award: Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey
  • Barbara
    Jefferis Award – The China Garden by
    Kristina Olsson
  • The Dobbie
    Literary Award – The Book of Emmet by
    Deborah Forrester
  • Miles
    Franklin Award – Truth by Peter Temple
  • New South
    Wales Premier’s Literary Awards – Summertime
    by JM Coetzee
  • Nita
    Kibble Literary Award – The Ghost at
    the Wedding by Shirley Walker
  • Patrick White Award – David Foster
  • Prime Minister’s Literary
    Awards – Dog Boy by Eva Hornung
  • Queensland Premier’s Literary
    Awards – Summertime by JM Coetzee
  • T.A.G.
    Hungerford Award – The Telling by
    Jacqui Wright
  • Victorian
    Premier’s Book Award  (Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction) – Truth by Peter Temple
  • Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards – Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey and Summertime by J. M. Coetzee (The
    2008 and 2009 winners were announced in September 2010).

No Comments Yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *