Jasper Jones Still Up for Awards

0 No tags Permalink
Courtesy of Allen & Unwin

Western Australian Craig Silvey was shortlisted for an Irish literary award yesterday with his coming-of-age novel Jasper Jones.

He joins fellow Australians David Malouf and Evie Wyld with seven other authors, shortlisted from 162 nominated works from 126 cities worldwide.
The International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award is worth €100,000 (almost AUD $140,000) and is the world’s most prestigious literary prize nominated by public libraries world-wide. 
The shortlisted titles for 2011 are:
Galore by Michael Crummey (Canadian) Doubleday Canada.
The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver (American) Faber & Faber, HarperCollins, USA.
The Vagrants by Yiyn Li (Chinese / American) Random House, USA.
Ransom by David Malouf (Australian) Random House, Australia.
Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann (Irish) Bloomsbury, UK, Random House, USA.
Little Bird of Heaven by Joyce Carol Oates (American) Ecco Press, USA.
Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey  (Australian) Allen & Unwin.
Brooklyn by Colm Toibín (Irish) Viking, UK, Scribner, USA.
Love and Summer by William Trevor (Irish) Viking, UK.
After the Fire, a Still, Small Voice by Evie Wyld (Australian) Pantheon Books, USA.
The winner will be announced on Wednesday June 15. You can find out more via the official International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award website.
For those who have never read Jasper Jones, it was written by Craig Silvey out of his passion for the southern gothic fiction of Twain, Lee and Capote.
In an interview with his publisher Allen & Unwin, Silvey summarises his novel as “a coming-of-age, regional mystery novel, stuffed inside a nervous little love story, garnished with family drama and adolescent escapism and anguish.”
Silvey has won a stack of awards for this novel including the 2010 Literary Fiction Book of the Year and the Book of the Year in the Australian Book Industry Awards. It was also shortlisted for both the Miles Franklin Literary Award and the NSW Premier’s Literary Award – Christina Stead Prize for Fiction. Prior to this it also won the Overall Winner, Indie Book of the Year Award 2009 and the Indie Book of the Year 2009 – Fiction. 

No Comments Yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *