That Deadman Dance by Kim Scott Wins 2011 Miles Franklin Award

Courtesy Pan Macmillan
Congratulations to West Australian author Kim Scott who is this year’s recipient of the Miles Franklin Award which was announced in Melbourne last night.
That Deadman Dance explores the early contact between the first European settlers and the Aboriginal Noongar people of the south west of WA.  It is set around the area that is now known as Albany, which is Scott’s hometown.
Kim Scott was the first indigenous author to win the Miles Franklin Literary Award for his novel Benang in 2000. He has now won the accolade for a second time; a fantastic achievement.
While not the most lucrative of the Australian book awards ($50,000), the Miles Franklin Award is regarded as one of the most prestigious.  It was established in 1957, and the initial winner was one of Australia’s greatest writers, Nobel Prize recipient Patrick White, who won with his novel Voss.
Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin was a novelist and feminist.  She was born in New South Wales (NSW) in 1879 and while still a teenager, wrote her famous novel My Brilliant Career which was later made into a film of the same name and featured Judy Davis and Sam Neill.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *